My Old Man and the Sea

My Old Man and the Sea

A Father and Son Sail Around Cape Horn

Book - 1995
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Workman Press.
A story of adventure on a small boat, for fathers, for sons, and for those who love them. On this voyage the father relinquishes control, the son becomes the captain, and before long they are utterly alone, with only the huge waves of Cape Horn, a compass, a sextant, a pet cat, and the tiny boat they've built together. "The account of the passage, related in alternating sections by father and son, will be read with delight 100 years from now."--William F. Buckley, The New York Times Book Review, front page; "A must read for sailors of the sea and of the heart."--Eco Traveler.

Over three months as a New York Times Bestseller. A Literary Guild and a Nautical Book Club selection.


Baker & Taylor
In a humorous and poignant travelogue, a father and son take turns tracing their journey around South America in a tiny boat they built together, and assessing the changes and challenges the trip brought to their relationship.

Blackwell North Amer
Some fathers and sons go fishing together. Some play baseball. David and Daniel Hays decided to sail a tiny boat 17,000 miles to the bottom of the world and back. This is their story.
David is romantic, excitable, and reflective; Daniel is wry, comic, and down-to-earth. Together their alternating voices weave a story of travel, of adventure, and of difficult, dangerous blue-water sailing. The Caribbean, the Panama Canal, the Galapagos Islands, Easter Island, Cape Horn, the Falklands - these far-flung places spring vividly to life in My Old Man and the Sea.
Father and son don't always get along, though. Daniel has been an uneasy and uneven student. Now, just out of college, he's unsure what to do next. He sees his father growing older, slower, more forgetful. David is haunted by memories of his own father, of the things they never said to each other, and the fear that he'll make the same mistakes with his son. But he gets angry when Daniel treats him like an old man.
On this voyage, the son will become the captain, and the father will relinquish control. Before long they are at sea, headed for the huge waves and unceasing wind of the Southern Ocean with only their skill as sailors, a compass, a sextant, a ship's cat, and Sparrow, the 25-foot boat they've built together.
Lovers of sailing and travel books will find this often hilarious, often moving tale of voyage and self-discovery to be in the tradition of Farley Mowat's The Boat Who Wouldn't Float, Bruce Chatwin's In Patagonia, and Paul Theroux's The Happy Isles of Oceania. But more than that, it's the story of a father and son who go down to the sea to find each other, and of what they bring back.

Baker
& Taylor

Traces a father and son journey around South America in a tiny boat they built together

Publisher: Chapel Hill : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 1995.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781565121027
1565121023
Branch Call Number: 910.45 HAY
Characteristics: xiv, 227 p. : ill., maps ; 23 cm.
Additional Contributors: Hays, Daniel 1960-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Liber_vermis
Dec 10, 2012

On the one hand the father and son successfully piloted their 25-foot sailboat "Sparrow" from New London, CT, around Cape Horn, and back home. On the other hand, the son ran aground once (and almost ran aground 3 or 4 other times), he was swept overboard off Cape Horn; and he was robbed by a prostitute in Rio de Janeiro which suggests a jinx may have been on him until all is revealed on page 201. The final leg of the voyage from Antigua to New London is omitted (perhaps because family members crewed) from the chronicle. The only item missing from their gear was an on-board psychiatrist.

c
CliffPetersen
Apr 21, 2010

This is a great story of a father and son who take turns telling the story of their trip around Cape Horn in a small boat. It starts with the boat's construction and ends back at home.

It was very interesting to see the different perspective of the father versus son.

You can see how spending so much time in such a small space for months gets to you.

The book definitely makes you feel like you are there in the middle of the crazy adventure.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top