John

John

A Novel

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
An epic tale based on John the Apostle's final years places the elderly, blind John in exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small band of increasingly disillusioned followers, until the Roman emperor lifts the ban against Christianity, enabling John's return to the religiously torn region of Ephesus. By the author of Four Letters of Love.

McMillan Palgrave
In the tradition of Jim Crace’s Quarantine and Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author ofFour Letters of Love.

At a time when Americans remain skeptical about religion but still thirst for spiritual fulfillment, Niall Williams’s extraordinary and masterful new novel reveals a universally appealing message of hope and love.

In the years following the death of Jesus Christ, John the Apostle, now a frail, blind old man, lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. Together, the group has endured their banishment, but after years awaiting Christ’s return, fissures form within their faith, and, inevitably, one of John’s followers disavows Christ’s divinity and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity. When the Roman emperor lifts the banishment of Christians, John and his followers are permitted to return to Ephesus, a chaotic world of competing religious sects where Christianity is in danger of vanishing. It is against this turbulent background—and inspired by Jesus’s radical message of love and forgiveness—that John comes to dictate his Gospel.

Immensely impressive—and based on actual historical events—John is at once an ambitious and provocative reimagining of the last surviving apostle and a powerful look at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men.


Holtzbrinck

In the tradition of Jim Crace's Quarantine and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, John is a stunning, lyrical reimagining of John the Apostle in the final years of his life, by the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Four Letters of Love.

At a time when Americans remain skeptical about religion but still thirst for spiritual fulfillment, Niall Williams's extraordinary and masterful new novel reveals a universally appealing message of hope and love.

In the years following the death of Jesus Christ, John the Apostle, now a frail, blind old man, lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. Together, the group has endured their banishment, but after years awaiting Christ's return, fissures form within their faith, and, inevitably, one of John's followers disavows Christ's divinity and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity. When the Roman emperor lifts the banishment of Christians, John and his followers are permitted to return to Ephesus, a chaotic world of competing religious sects where Christianity is in danger of vanishing. It is against this turbulent background—and inspired by Jesus's radical message of love and forgiveness—that John comes to dictate his Gospel.

Immensely impressive—and based on actual historical events—John is at once an ambitious and provocative reimagining of the last surviving apostle and a powerful look at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men.



Blackwell North Amer
Years after the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, a frail, blind old man lives in forced exile on the desolate island of Patmos with a small group of his disciples. He is John the Apostle, waiting in banishment for Christ's return.
In isolation and exile, fissures begin to form among the disciples. As even John starts to question his own faith, Matthias disavows Christ's divinity once and for all and breaks away from the community, threatening to change the course of Christianity forever. An ambitious and provocative novel, John looks at faith and how it lives and dies in the hearts of men.

Baker
& Taylor

A tale based on John the Apostle's final years places the elderly, blind John in exile on the island of Patmos, until the Roman emperor lifts the ban against Christianity, enabling John's return to the religiously torn region of Ephesus.

Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury : Distributed to the trade by Macmillan, 2008.
Edition: 1st U.S. ed.
ISBN: 9781596914674
159691467X
Characteristics: 276 p. ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top